#63092: "Discarding to Minerva doesn't draw additional cards when you above hand limit"
Apakah laporan ini berkenaan?
Apakah yang berlaku? Sila pilih pilihan di bawah
Apakah yang berlaku? Sila pilih pilihan di bawah
Sila semak apakah sudah ada laporan mengenai subjek yang sama
Jika ya, sila nyatakan untuk laporan ini. Laporan dengan undian yang paling diberikan PRIORITI!
| # | Status | Votes | Game | Type | Title | Last update |
|---|
Penerangan yang terperinci
-
• Sila salin/tampal mesej masalah yang anda dapat lihat di skrin, jika ada.
I have 7 cards in hand. I discard one yellow card as an offering to Minerva.
I should draw 1 card (0 because I am at/above hand limit + 1 for each card discarded (in this case 1))
I didn't draw any cards. If I understand the logs correctly, game treats discarding to Minerva as increased hand limit, which does not produce correct result in this case.
Quote from the english rules:
"Draw cards from the deck in order to replenish your hand
to 5 cards. If you invoked Minerva (yellow/scientific),
draw one more card per card you discarded in Step 3
above" -
• Tolong jelaskan apa yang anda ingin buat, apa yang telah anda buat dan apa yang telah terjadi
Move 35.
• Apakah browser anda?
Google Chrome v98
-
• Tolong salin/lekat teks yang dipaparkan dalam bahasa inggeris dan bukannya bahasa anda. Sekiranya anda ada screenshot bug ini (amalan yang baik), anda boleh gunakan Imgur.com untuk muatnaik dan copy/paste pautan itu di sini.
I have 7 cards in hand. I discard one yellow card as an offering to Minerva.
I should draw 1 card (0 because I am at/above hand limit + 1 for each card discarded (in this case 1))
I didn't draw any cards. If I understand the logs correctly, game treats discarding to Minerva as increased hand limit, which does not produce correct result in this case.
Quote from the english rules:
"Draw cards from the deck in order to replenish your hand
to 5 cards. If you invoked Minerva (yellow/scientific),
draw one more card per card you discarded in Step 3
above" -
• Adakah teks ini tersedia dalam sistem terjemahan ? Jika ya, adakah ia diterjemahkan selama lebih daripada 24 jam?
Move 35.
• Apakah browser anda?
Google Chrome v98
-
• Tolong jelaskan cadangan anda dengan tepat dan ringkas supaya semudah mungkin untuk memahami apa yang anda maksudkan.
I have 7 cards in hand. I discard one yellow card as an offering to Minerva.
I should draw 1 card (0 because I am at/above hand limit + 1 for each card discarded (in this case 1))
I didn't draw any cards. If I understand the logs correctly, game treats discarding to Minerva as increased hand limit, which does not produce correct result in this case.
Quote from the english rules:
"Draw cards from the deck in order to replenish your hand
to 5 cards. If you invoked Minerva (yellow/scientific),
draw one more card per card you discarded in Step 3
above" • Apakah browser anda?
Google Chrome v98
-
• Apa yang dipaparkan pada skrin apabila anda disekat (Skrin kosong? Antara muka permainan? Mesej ralat?)
I have 7 cards in hand. I discard one yellow card as an offering to Minerva.
I should draw 1 card (0 because I am at/above hand limit + 1 for each card discarded (in this case 1))
I didn't draw any cards. If I understand the logs correctly, game treats discarding to Minerva as increased hand limit, which does not produce correct result in this case.
Quote from the english rules:
"Draw cards from the deck in order to replenish your hand
to 5 cards. If you invoked Minerva (yellow/scientific),
draw one more card per card you discarded in Step 3
above" • Apakah browser anda?
Google Chrome v98
-
• Bahagian peraturan yang mana tidak dihormati oleh penyesuaian BGA
I have 7 cards in hand. I discard one yellow card as an offering to Minerva.
I should draw 1 card (0 because I am at/above hand limit + 1 for each card discarded (in this case 1))
I didn't draw any cards. If I understand the logs correctly, game treats discarding to Minerva as increased hand limit, which does not produce correct result in this case.
Quote from the english rules:
"Draw cards from the deck in order to replenish your hand
to 5 cards. If you invoked Minerva (yellow/scientific),
draw one more card per card you discarded in Step 3
above" -
• Adakah kelanggaran peraturan boleh dilihat di ulangan permainan? Jikanya ya, pada langkah berapa?
Move 35.
• Apakah browser anda?
Google Chrome v98
-
• Apakan tindakan yang anda mahu lakukan?
I have 7 cards in hand. I discard one yellow card as an offering to Minerva.
I should draw 1 card (0 because I am at/above hand limit + 1 for each card discarded (in this case 1))
I didn't draw any cards. If I understand the logs correctly, game treats discarding to Minerva as increased hand limit, which does not produce correct result in this case.
Quote from the english rules:
"Draw cards from the deck in order to replenish your hand
to 5 cards. If you invoked Minerva (yellow/scientific),
draw one more card per card you discarded in Step 3
above" -
• Apa yang anda cuba lakukan untuk mencetuskan tindakan permainan ini?
Move 35.
-
• Apa yang berlaku apabila anda cuba melakukan ini (mesej ralat, mesej bar status permainan, ...)?
• Apakah browser anda?
Google Chrome v98
-
• Pada peringkat mana semasa permainan , masalah itu berlaku (apakah arahan semasa permainan tersebut)?
I have 7 cards in hand. I discard one yellow card as an offering to Minerva.
I should draw 1 card (0 because I am at/above hand limit + 1 for each card discarded (in this case 1))
I didn't draw any cards. If I understand the logs correctly, game treats discarding to Minerva as increased hand limit, which does not produce correct result in this case.
Quote from the english rules:
"Draw cards from the deck in order to replenish your hand
to 5 cards. If you invoked Minerva (yellow/scientific),
draw one more card per card you discarded in Step 3
above" -
• Apa yang berlaku apabila anda cuba melakukan tindakan permainan (mesej ralat, mesej bar status permainan, ...)?
Move 35.
• Apakah browser anda?
Google Chrome v98
-
• Tolong jelaskan masalah pemaparan. Sekiranya anda ada screenshot bug ini (amalan yang baik), anda boleh gunakan Imgur.com untuk muatnaik dan copy/paste pautan itu di sini.
I have 7 cards in hand. I discard one yellow card as an offering to Minerva.
I should draw 1 card (0 because I am at/above hand limit + 1 for each card discarded (in this case 1))
I didn't draw any cards. If I understand the logs correctly, game treats discarding to Minerva as increased hand limit, which does not produce correct result in this case.
Quote from the english rules:
"Draw cards from the deck in order to replenish your hand
to 5 cards. If you invoked Minerva (yellow/scientific),
draw one more card per card you discarded in Step 3
above" • Apakah browser anda?
Google Chrome v98
-
• Tolong salin/lekat teks yang dipaparkan dalam bahasa inggeris dan bukannya bahasa anda. Sekiranya anda ada screenshot bug ini (amalan yang baik), anda boleh gunakan Imgur.com untuk muatnaik dan copy/paste pautan itu di sini.
I have 7 cards in hand. I discard one yellow card as an offering to Minerva.
I should draw 1 card (0 because I am at/above hand limit + 1 for each card discarded (in this case 1))
I didn't draw any cards. If I understand the logs correctly, game treats discarding to Minerva as increased hand limit, which does not produce correct result in this case.
Quote from the english rules:
"Draw cards from the deck in order to replenish your hand
to 5 cards. If you invoked Minerva (yellow/scientific),
draw one more card per card you discarded in Step 3
above" -
• Adakah teks ini tersedia dalam sistem terjemahan ? Jika ya, adakah ia diterjemahkan selama lebih daripada 24 jam?
Move 35.
• Apakah browser anda?
Google Chrome v98
-
• Tolong jelaskan cadangan anda dengan tepat dan ringkas supaya semudah mungkin untuk memahami apa yang anda maksudkan.
I have 7 cards in hand. I discard one yellow card as an offering to Minerva.
I should draw 1 card (0 because I am at/above hand limit + 1 for each card discarded (in this case 1))
I didn't draw any cards. If I understand the logs correctly, game treats discarding to Minerva as increased hand limit, which does not produce correct result in this case.
Quote from the english rules:
"Draw cards from the deck in order to replenish your hand
to 5 cards. If you invoked Minerva (yellow/scientific),
draw one more card per card you discarded in Step 3
above" • Apakah browser anda?
Google Chrome v98
Laporan masa lalu
Thanks for raising this. You've made me realise that there is a rules ambiguity here, that I've never even thought about while both playing the game or while implementing it on BGA.
I've always taken the rule to be, with Minerva, instead of drawing up to 5, you draw up to 5+N, where N is the number of cards discarded. So in this case, discarding one card from a hand of 7, you would draw up to 6, which means not drawing at all as you had 6 cards in hand still.
But looking into it now, I do see your point of view - the rules seem to say you draw "up to 5" (meaning again drawing nothing), and THEN draw extra cards. I've never appreciated that there was any difference but there clearly is in this case.
It wouldn't be any problem for me to fix the code to do what you are suggesting - but I'm really not sure what the correct procedure is. I've just looked through rules threads on BGG, specifically about how the Minerva discard works, but can't even find this question clearly stated, let alone answered by the designer!
So I'm going to have to research how this is supposed to work. In the meantime, and before I pose a question on BGG - if you already know of any definitive ruling on this, please let me know!
If not, I'll update this either way once I have an answer. Thanks again.
I tried even looking at French rules - I suppose they are original. The google translate of that sentence is "Draw until you have 5 cards in hand. If you have summoned Minerva (science/yellow), draw a card more per discarded card."
Which doesn't add much clarity (and I don't know how well google translate works for fine details)
I asked on BGG a few days ago. I haven't had an "official" reply yet (ie from designer or publisher), and doubt I now will - however everyone who replied has said they agree with your interpretation. Which on balance I think I do too, from rereading the rules when you brought up this issue. So I will mark this as "confirmed", and start fixing it. It shouldn't be too complex to do but I'll have to test quite a few scenarios with Minerva to make sure I haven't unexpectedly broken anything, so all I can promise is it should be done in the next few days. (It's possible I finish it tonight but I don't really expect that, I'd rather be slower and get it right than quick and cause an issue.)
I'll update when it's deployed, both on here and also in an announcement to the player group explaining my rules misunderstanding and how it works (properly) after the fix, in case any are confused by the change in behaviour.
Thanks again
Tambah sesuatu untuk laporan ini
- ID meja yang lain / gerakkan ID
- Adakah F5 meyelesaikan masalah ity?
- Adapah masalah itu berlaku beberapa kali? Selalu? Sekali-sekala?
- Sekiranya anda ada screenshot bug ini (amalan yang baik), anda boleh gunakan Imgur.com untuk muatnaik dan copy/paste pautan itu di sini.
